Managing your data

Versions

If you upload a study into a project where a study with the same name exists, the system will assume that this is a replacement for the orginal study.

The new study will be placed in the list with an updated date, and a Versions option will appear.

Versions have been archived (and will eventually be removed from the system). If you select the Versions button you will see the list of available previous versions.

A previous version can be Restore'd in which case it will appear again in the study list alongside the latest copy of that Study.

If you want to clear down the list of versions you can remove unwanted copies by clicking on the

Editing study data

You have the option to Edit data that has been uploaded, beware that if a new version of the study is uploaded any edits will be overwritten.

You can edit Entries:

Where you can Remove unwanted entries. This may be necessary if you have an erroneous capture that is creating an outlier effect. If an entry if linked to another or invoved in defining a batch then it cannot be removed.

You can also set or unset any Linked activities, so that they are combined as a single observed activity.

Here you can also configure the observed entries into Batches, this is covered in detail in the next section.

To help you find particular entries in a large study, there is a filter option . Selecting this will give you the opportunity to filter the list of entries by various factors:

  • By Activity: Show only entries for a particular activity
  • By Duration: Show only entries whose duration is within the range
  • By Start Time: Show only entries that Start during the defined range

And/or you can edit Activities:

Editing activities affects all activities in the study.

You can remove all entries for a given activity by selecting . Or reassign an activity to another activity from the Profile that the Study is using. Sometimes if data is out of Sync between the website and the tablet, when uploading a study you may get activities recorded as 'Unrecognised', when this happens it can be helpful to Reassign those activities here.

Beware that deleting an activity will remove any Batch settings that may have been added.

Batch reporting

Batching can be useful for analysing a regularly repeating process. You can capture many iterations of the same process in a single study and then define each iteration into batches.

When this is set you will receive an extra Batch Report when you select a Study and when you export Study data.

To set batches you must define the start and end of each batch in the entry list. Any entries not contained within a batch are ignored for Batch reporting purposes.

You can define batches manually by clicking on the - for the start and end of each batch. Or, as batches generally represent the same repeating process you can do this automatically for the whole study:

Select the batch config window , and then select the common Start and End activity for the batches.

This will then assign the batch groupings across the study. You can edit these manually afterwards if you wish.