Use the vFlow App

Set up

Before you use the vFlow App, you need to make sure that your device is connected to the internet, and that you have set up at least one Profile in your account.

Log into the tablet using your account username (email address) and password. When opening for the first time the app will download your profiles.

You can remain logged into your tablet for up to 7 days, which allows you to capture data off-line, but you will need to reconnect in order to upload data to the server.

There is the option to edit profile details on the tablet Manage Profiles. This can be useful if you want to create your profile while observing actual activity. However, due to synchronising data with other users, we recommend that you only do this before sharing the Profile.

i.e. Use this technique to define your profile and upload it. The remove the profile from your tablet and edit it/tidy it up on the website, before then sharing it for other users to download and use.

Here you can delete a profile and/or download any new profiles. If you re-download an existing profile it will update the profile currently on your tablet. Note: you can only download profiles that are yours or that have been shared on your account. If someone has stopped sharing a previously available profile then you will not be able to refresh or re-download that profile.

When you edit a profile it will only change the master on the server if a) you own the profile, and b) you upload a Study that uses the profile after the changes.

To manage the master on the server against potentially many downloaded profiles, edits only occur under certain conditions :

  • Add Activity : This activity will be added to the profile if it exists in a Study that you upload.
  • Delete Activity : This will not be removed from the master, you will need to do that on the website.
  • Rename Activity : This will add the new name to the profile on the server (if it is used in a Study that you upload) but will also leave the activity with the old name, if you want to remove this you will need to do that on the website.
  • Change order of Activity : This will not affect the master but will only be used by the tablet.

You can change the order of activities within a category by touch and holding for a second and then drag the activity. Edit Activity details by tapping the activity.

You can switch profiles by tapping the drop-down at the top of the screen.

Perform a Study

You can either create a New Study or access an existing one under Manage Studies.

When creating a new study you need to select the Profile that the study will use, a study can only have one Profile, but you can run several studies in parallel if you wish. Once you give the Stuy a name and confirm, you will be taken to the Study capture screen

To begin with there will be no entries on the right hand side. You will need to press the record button in the top left to start the timing and start adding your activities by clicking Submit at the end of each activity observation. The entry will be submitted based on the activity that you have selected when the Submit button is tapped.

If you click Submit too early, then you can continue recording the same activity. When you next Submit you will have the option to merge the two timings by clicking on the merge label.

Adding a number to the top row will add that value to the first default value type in the list (usually 'No. of').

Alternatively you can click on the Values tab to add numbers against specific Value Types. Only types that have been set in the profile will be available.

To add comments to an entry, select the Comments tab. Again you will have access to the list of Comment types that have been set in the profile.

If you stop the timing between Activities, then there will be a gap in the overall study timings, otherwise, the entry will assume that the start time of an activity is the end of the last activity.

You can swipe your finger to scroll between activities in any of the category rows.

The + buttons at the start of each category list allow you to add a new Activity 'on-the-fly', this acts the same as adding an Activity within the Manage Profiles screen.

If you find that you return to a previous activity, but from a timing point of view you want to treat it as a single oservation, then you can use the link-entry arrows on the right hand side .

Select the most recent entry to link it with the previously seen entry. You can link several observations of an activity together in this way. The result will be that when reporting on timings, any linked observations will be considered as a single entry with an aggregate time. These can be editted later on the website also.

Tracking multiple studies in parallel

If you are observing a process with some long-running activities, it is possible to exit a study and leave it tracking the timing.

To do this you can just select Back to Studies without stopping the timing . You can then capture timings in other studies and return to this study later to submit the activity and continue capturing entries.

If a study is still active then it will be highlighted in the study list:

If you need to go back and change something in an earlier entry, you can do this by selecting it in the entries list. When it is highlighted you can change the assigned activity and edit any values or comments assigned to it. To return to capture mode, click Cancel to abandon your edits, or Save to retain your edits.

Note that you cannot submit new entries while you are in edit mode.

Transfer Data

Once you have captured your study data you will want to upload it to the website to carry out analysis and reporting. From the capture screen you can select Back to Studies, or from the main menu, select Manage Studies.

Here you will see a list of the studies held on the tablet. At the top you will find studies that have not yet been uploaded, grouped by their profile type.

Below, grouped by project and then by profile type, you will find all studies that have been uploaded at least once to the server.

The tick box beside the study name can be used to select multiple studies to either Delete or Upload. Deleting a study only removes it from the device, any copies that have been uploaded to the website will remain there.

When you select Upload you will be asked which Project you want to upload the data into. You must have a project in your account to be able to upload studies.

If you upload a study with the same name into the same project as one that already exists, it will replace the existing study, but the old study will not be lost, it will be archived to a versions folder.

It is also possible if desired to Download one or more studies from a project on the website onto your device.